
IMPERIAL ARMOUR APOCALYPSE  
Q AND A 

 
TAU 

 
1. The Remora is listed as having 3 Structure points. Is this right? 
 
No, it has 0 structure points. 
 
2. The DX-6 Remora and TX-42 Piranha have a squad size of 1. Is this 
correct? 
 
Yes, they aren’t common vehicles. For 40K they have different unit sizes 
listed. 
 
3. The Tiger Shark AX-1-0 has a Strength 10 listed on a Destroyer 
weapon. 
 
This should be D. 
 
4. Why can’t the technical drone use its special rule listed for the Drone 
perimeter defence team all the time? 
 
This is a special bonus for taking the formation. The technical drone has 
many different functions, and can be used to represent many different things 
within an army. 
 
5. How does the disruption pod on the Tiger Shark and AX-1-0 variant 
work? 
 
It doesn’t, ignore this entry, as it serves no purpose. 
 
6. My Orca can carry 24 infantry sitting, 24 infantry standing, 8 drones 
and 1 Ethereal. This is a total of 57 not the 55 listed. 
 
The detail of actual capacity and restrictions on Tau transports are quiet 
complex. They were simplified for these rules.  
 
7. How do squads disembark from an Orca? It only has 1 access point. 
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This is a problem, as it will take most of a game to disembark from the Orca. 
Up to 3 squads can leave the Orca’s large rear door in a turn. 
 
8.  What does the BS (2)4 mean on the Manta? 
 
The BS (2) is only used for the drone controlled burst cannons. Every other 
weapon uses BS4. 
 
9. How does the Manta’s twin-linked ordnance work? 
 
For the standard round uses its BS to hit, with a re-roll for being twin-linked. 
For sub-munitions you can re-roll your ordnance to hit dice and the scatter 
dice. This also applies to the AX-1-0. 
 
10. How does the Remora’s stealth field generator work with its 
additional 12” for being a flyer? 
 
First roll to see if the Remora is in spotting distance.  This is not modified by 
the 12” extra range rule. Then see if the spotter’s weapon(s) are in range, 
this time add 12” to the range.  
 
11. Is the transport capacity of the Manta’s upper deck correct at 48? 
 
Yes it is. It has been modified because some of the spaces are only for 
drones. These can’t be included in the simplified version because otherwise 
they could be used for any infantry.  Drone attached to character via drone 
controllers don’t count towards the limit. 
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FORCES OF THE IMPERIUM 
 
1. Concerning Hunter-Killer missiles. Is the range of all standard HK 
missiles 72" as opposed to unlimited range, perhaps due to the larger 
Apocalypse battlefields? 
 
You are confusing Hunter-Killers (carried by vehicles) with Hellstrikes 
(carried by aircraft). Hunter-Killers have unlimited range, Hellstrikes have 
72”, they are different weapons. 
 
2. The Hellstrike missiles is listed as ordnance. Does this mean that they 
may now only fire that one missile at the cost of all its other weapons?  
 
As an ordnance weapon a Hellstrike is fired instead of other weapons. It may 
fire as many missiles as you like though. 
 
3. Lightning aircraft have not been given the interceptor special rule. Is 
that a mistake? 
 
No, the Thunderbolt isn’t an interceptor either, although some of its weapons 
are AA mounted. This does not apply to the Lightning. Only the Nightwing 
is an interceptor, to give it an edge in aerial combat. 
 
4. The Marauder Destroyer has no structure points listed. 
 
It should have 3 Structure points. 
 
5.  Do Inquisitors and Inquisitor Lords lose the ability to have a 
Valkyrie as a transport option? 
 
No, they can still ride in a Valkyrie. 
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IMPERIAL GUARD 
 
 1. Does the new profile for Multiple Rocket Pods (as on the Valkyrie 
and Vulture) change the profile for the Rocket Pod on a Support 
Sentinel? 
 
The Support Sentinel in IA3 should use the new multiple rocket pods stat 
line. 
 
2. The Stormsword has a Hellhammer cannon but with a different 
template size. Is it because the name is wrong or because it is a bigger 
version of the Hellhammer cannon? 

 
It a bigger version of the same gun.  
 
3. Why would I pay 25 points to be forced to deploy every Death Riders 
within 12” of the command squad in a Death Rider company ? 
 
Despite the lack of special rule this is still a perfectly viable unit even with 
the 25pts addition. As a Battle Formation the entire unit can turn up from 
Strategic Reserve, counting as one unit, so there is still some advantage to 
the formation over individual units. 
 
4. How do the Macharius ‘Vanquisher’s’ AP rounds work? 
 
The Macharius ‘Vanquisher’ can opt to fire its normal round or an AP round 
– in which case the AP round uses the crew’s BS to hit (with a re-roll for 
twin-linked). It looses its blast marker, but rolls 2D6+8 for armour 
penetration, adding the dice results together. 
 
5. The Malcador has a special movement rule, but the main rules halve 
movement rather than losing a D6. How does this work? 
 
Instead of losing half its movement roll a D6 instead.  
 
6. There are no options for changing the Gorgon’s sponson weapons. 
Where are these rules? 
This is an omission. The Gorgon should have the option to change its 
Gorgon mortars for four heavy bolters at +60 pts, four heavy flamers at +60 
pts or four heavy stubbers at +30 pts.  

 4



 
7. Is the command upgrade for the Shadowsword, Stormblade and 
Stormsword free? 
 
No, it costs +25 pts to upgrade to a command tank. 
 
 

SPACE MARINES 
 
1.  A command squad is one of the options in the Strike Eagle drop pod 
formation, however a command squad has a minimum size of 5 models 
and can only be taken as a retinue/bodyguard for an attached character, 
making a command squad total 6 models minimum. How then can a 
Forge World drop pod with a transport capacity of 5 contain a 
command squad and character? 
 
The squad size can be dropped to 1 Sergeant + 3 Space Marines, but only if 
they are deploying from a drop pod.  
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TYRANIDS 
 
1. In IA4 the meiotic spore has the special rule of rolling 2d6+5 to  
penetrate vehicle armour. This rule appears to be no longer in effect 
and now is just a strength 5, 5" blast.  Was this intentional? 
 
No, they should roll 2D6 + 5 for armour penetration. 
 
2. Also is it still possible to use the aerial attack special rule with Meiotic 
Spores? 
 
The Meiotic spores were complex rules, and for speed of play they have 
been cut down for Apocalypse. For clarity stick with the standard rules.  
 
3. Originally, when the Trygon used Deep Strike to enter the board and 
it scattered into a unit, the Trygon displaced the unit and was counted 
as Assaulting. Under the new rules it appears it no longer has this 
ability. Does that now mean that if the Trygon scatters into a unit, it 
would now be destroyed? 
 
The standard rules say yes. This means the Trygon is a gargantuan creature 
than could be automatically destroyed by a gretchin mob, which doesn’t 
seem right. Conversely, the Trygon could be used to directly target super 
heavy vehicles to get straight into an assault without any risk to itself. The 
original Trygon rules in AI volume 4 seem to offer the best solution. The 
Trygon counts as assaulting against normal units, but is destroyed by other 
gargantuan creatures and super-heavy vehicles.  
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ORKS 

 
1. The Big Squiggoth, Gun Wagon, ‘Krusha’ Battlewagon and 
‘Dethrolla’ Battle Fortress have their Kannon shell ammunition listed 
as strength 9. Is this right? 
 
No, a Kannon’s shells should be strength 8. 
 
2. The Ork turbo-booster is listed as an option, but no longer appears in 
the Ork codex. What are the rules? 
 
Ignore this option, no Ork vehicle can take the turbo-booster any longer. 
 
 

ELDAR 
 
1. Should the Vampire Raider have the Hover mode rule? 
 
Yes, it should have the Hover mode. 
 
2. Is the Firestorm’s scatter laser an AA weapon? 
 
Yes, it does say this in the Weapons and Equipment list. 
  
 

CHAOS 
 

1. Zarakynal has lost her invulnerable save and her stat line is very 
different from IA Update 2006, is this a mistake? 
 
Yes, her stat line is wrong. She should have Toughness 8, Initiative 8, 
Attacks 6 and an armour save that is -/4+ (ie 4+ invulnerable).  


